The Merchant Princes – Charles Stross

Cover artist for the first six volumes: Paul Youll
Volume 7 and 8 are photo composites

Cover artist

The series consisted of six books published from 2005 to 2010. However, in 2017 a new cycle of the series started – we now have eight books with more to come.
It is an interesting and intense series of parallel worlds, where some people have the ability to jump between these worlds.
We follow the main protagonist Miriam Beckstein as she finds out, what and who she really is and the consequences for her and the parallel worlds. We are deftly sucked into a whirlwind of intrigue, crime, political power struggles and personal problems with strong characters trying to save the day. No holds are barred in the cataclysmic ending of book six.
If you like your SF fast paced, full of ideas and politically savvy, then this series is a must read. Personally, I am eagerly awaiting the next book.

The Merchant Princes

  1. The Family Trade
  2. The Hidden Family
  3. The Clan Corporate
  4. The Merchants’ War
  5. The Revolution Business
  6. Trade of Queens
  7. Empire Games
  8. Dark State

In the acknowledgements page in the first book, Charles Stross writes: “This book might not have happened if I hadn’t read the works of H. Beam Piper and Roger Zelazny.”

Parallel worlds is the theme of H. Beam Piper’s Paratime novels and stories, and the Amber books of Roger Zelazny. Try and search them out, they are very good.

Read more