The Wayward Children – Seanan McGuire

Nancy stood frozen in the center of the foyer, her hand locked on the handle of her suitcase as she looked around, trying to find her bearings. She wasn’t sure what she’d been expecting from the “special school” her parents were sending her to, but it certainly hadn’t been this … this elegant country home.

The Wayward Children is a beautiful, lovely and heartbreaking series about estrangement and children trying to find themselves, live the lives they want and need to live, to survive as the persons they are and want to be.

Children slipping through gateways into other worlds has always happened – Narnia, Oz, Harry Potter, Alice in Wonderland. But what happens, if the children get thrown out of these worlds – even though they want and need to stay?

Seanan McGuire has written a fantastic series. It will make you cry and feel for these children. Read it!


The Wayward Children

  1. Every Heart a Doorway
  2. Down Among the Sticks and Bones
  3. Beneath the Sugar Sky
  4. In an Absent Dream



Here are some beautiful postcards by Rovina Cai that were given away as promotional material, when the books were published.

Read more